The Dreaded “About Me”

About Me: Does anyone else hate that field as much as I do? What in the world should I put there? What do I want people to know?

Should I put stuff about my work? I love my work, but would anyone else even want to hear about it? I’m lucky to have a job that I enjoy. I’m passionate about safety, so being able to spend each day making sure that the workers are safe is awesome. But as much as I love it, I’m looking forward to the day I can retire in eight years… okay, seven years and eleven months, but who’s counting? I have other things I want to do.

I could put all kinds of stuff about my family, but I’d probably get in trouble and they’d stop talking to me, so I’d better not. Hmm. I’ll have to give that some more thought. That could be kind of fun… I’m lucky to have a lot of siblings. For the most part, we all get along well. A few hickups here and there. I just got back from a cruise with two of my sisters. When’s the next one, girls?! But better yet, I have a son who is the light of my life. When I’m 100, he’ll still have to put up with being my little boy.

The other shining lights in my life are my doggies. I can’t imagine life without them. Every ounce of love I give them comes back tenfold. My heart melts every time I look at them. (My wallet melts every time I go shopping for them, too.)

Writing is another of my loves. At work I “get” to write analytical or procedural @#%$%#; at school it’s those blasted essays and term papers; but then it comes down to the wee hours of the night when my imagination is brimming, and the blank pages start filling up with the terrible ordeals that I make my characters handle. Now THAT is some fun!

So what can I possibly write in that dreaded “About Me” column? I don’t have a clue. Do you?

5 thoughts on “The Dreaded “About Me”

  1. Don’t forget to tell everyone that you are incredibly intelligent and articulate. You have a heart of gold and a smile that melts the iciest of moods. Oh, and an imagination that rivals even the best writers.

  2. I have a doggie too named Yoshi, he is a chihuahua,
    so spoiled, and needy, but love him dearly, even though
    he has his own stubborn attitude, which causes me
    to want to probably be a wolf in his eyes, but as I say,
    he is the boy I never had…….lol

Leave a Reply

